post-workout green monster smoothie

I’ve been exercising more, and have become addicted to this as a post-workout (healthy!) treat. It’s easy and I always have the ingredients on hand. I saw this first on Pinterest from this site, and modified it a bit for ingredients I had, and to make it less preparation and easier for my 12-year-old-on-its-last-legs blender.

Image

Spinach in a smoothie, you may ask – as my mother did when I told her about it. I was skeptical too. But the original post said it tasted like a dessert, so I gave it a try, and I was NOT DISAPPOINTED. To me, it tastes like peanut butter and banana. Probably if you used vanilla milk and yogurt, it would be even a bit sweeter or dessert-ier, but I am happy with the flavor my version has.

Image

  • 1 c. (or a little less) Light Original soy milk
  • 1/2 c. plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 banana (sliced – especially if your blender is really really old, like mine)
  • as much spinach as you can cram in there

Blend! I sometimes have to push the spinach down with a spoon in between blending times, but with all soft or liquid ingredients, this smoothie is one of the few things my blender will actually make well. I added some frozen peaches once, since I was low on spinach, and I enjoyed the flavor, too – though, due to blender issues, they remained in frozen chunks!

Image

One thought on “post-workout green monster smoothie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.