spaghetti squash with eggplant (cheating)

Image

 

I had to title this with “cheating” as I used frozen, breaded eggplant slices. And store bought tomato sauce. But I think that just means it’s a good recipe you can make fairly quickly.

That being said, I decided to boil the spaghetti squash. In the past I’ve microwaved or baked it, but I am uncomfortable cutting big squash in half, so I looked up how to boil it (you can also bake and microwave it whole, and I think next time I’d microwave it). My problem was that, even though I bought the smallest spaghetti squash I could find, it still didn’t fit in my biggest pot with enough room for water to cover it. Google told me that boiling squash should take about 20 – 30 minutes. Mine took about 50 – 60. However, I must say it cooked pretty evenly for the fact that I turned it in the pot at completely random intervals and paid very little attention.

Image

(In terms of this being a “quick” dish, microwaving the squash whole should take 15 – 20 minutes, plus 5 minutes of the squash setting.)

While the squash is cooking, preheat the oven to 425 to bake the eggplant slices. They take about 12 – 15 minutes.

Image

I was so excited to find these at my usual (large chain) supermarket. They are great to have on hand.

 

You can tell the squash is done by sticking a fork into the skin. If it goes in and comes out easily, your squash is ready. I dumped mine into a colander in the sink, then picked it up with oven mitts. Slice it across the short dimension and scoop out the pulp and seeds. 

Image

Pull out the rest with a fork (this makes it spaghetti-y). I added a drizzle of olive oil, some oregano, garlic powder,  black pepper, and shredded cheese I had on hand – though I don’t think the shredded cheese did anything for it, and I would leave it out next time.

Image

I used about half of the squash with two eggplant slices, and topped that with some tomato sauce and Romano cheese. Voila! The best part? I have more squash and eggplant I can heat up tomorrow!

________________________________________________

  • 1 small spaghetti squash
  • 2 slices frozen breaded eggplant
  • pasta sauce of your choice
  • drizzle of olive oil
  • garlic, oregano, black pepper, grated Romano cheese; other Italian spices to taste

 

Preheat the oven to bake the eggplant slices. Boil water in a large pot for the squash. Stab the squash all over with a large knife or large fork to release pressure while it cooks. – this is especially important if you are microwaving! Boil for 20 – 30 minutes or until a fork can be easily inserted and removed.

Remove squash from pot, cut across the diameter, scoop out seeds and pulp, then shred flesh with fork. Season to taste with olive oil, garlic, pepper, oregano, Italian spices. Arrange in a bowl with eggplant and top with sauce and Romano cheese.

Serves 1, with leftovers.

Leave a Reply

